US Custom House to Receive National Trust for Historic Preservation Honor Award

26 October 2012

Woodward Design+Build has always viewed historic preservation as a key element and responsibility of being a New Orleans’ based firm. One project where this commitment to historic preservation was most evident was the United States Custom House, one of the most historically significant buildings in a city full of historic architecture. On November 2, 2012, the National Trust for Historic Preservation will present the renovation with a Preservation Honor Award. Only 14 projects received this award nationally in 2012.

New Orleans U.S. Custom House to Receive Preservation Honor Award

National Trust for Historic Preservation

26 October 2012

Washington, D.C. (October 24, 2012) –The National Trust for Historic Preservation will present its Preservation Honor Award for the restoration of the New Orleans U.S. Custom House. The project is one of 22 award winners to be honored by the National Trust during its 2012 National Preservation Conference next week in Spokane, Wash.

The city of New Orleans knows plenty about weathering a storm – and so do its buildings. Its U.S. Custom House, one of the oldest and most significant works of federal architecture in the country, has been a New Orleans landmark since 1848. In August 2005, the Custom House withstood the winds of Hurricane Katrina, but succumbed to severe water damage resulting in a collapsed roof. For the first time in 150 years, the 300,000 square foot National Historic Landmark was completely empty.

The General Services Administration turned this disaster into an opportunity for a comprehensive rehabilitation and restoration. GSA’s determination was rewarded throughout the restoration process as they uncovered treasures such as vaulted ceilings, skylights, and original signage hidden beneath insensitive alterations. Energy efficient systems were added while the historic fabric of the building was maintained.

“While each is unique, this year’s outstanding Honor Award winners all reflect the importance of protecting what is special and irreplaceable,” said Stephanie Meeks, president of the National Trust for Historic Preservation. “Whether it’s the restoration of an iconic post office in Philadelphia or the transformation of a Greyhound bus station into a Civil Rights museum in Montgomery, this year’s Honor Award winners demonstrate how saving places is bolstering local economies and creating jobs in communities across the country.”

The award will be presented to the U.S. General Services Administration at the Richard H. Driehaus National Preservation Awards ceremony in Spokane, Wash., on Friday, November 2.

Co-recipients are: Audubon Nature Institute; Gibbs Construction; PDG Architects; Waggonner & Ball Architects; and Woodward Design + Build.

The National Preservation Awards are bestowed on distinguished individuals, nonprofit organizations, public agencies and corporations whose skill and determination have given new meaning to their communities through preservation of our architectural and cultural heritage. These efforts include citizen attempts to save and maintain important landmarks; companies and craftsmen whose work restores the richness of the past; the vision of public officials who support preservation projects and legislation in their communities; and educators and journalists who help Americans understand the value of preservation. The winners of the National Preservation Awards will appear online at

The 2012 National Preservation Award Winners:

Louise du Pont Crowninshield Award: Donovan Rypkema, Washington, D.C.

National Trust/Advisory Council on Historic Preservation Award for Federal Partnerships in Historic Preservation: Montgomery Greyhound Bus Station—Freedom Rides Museum, Montgomery, Ala.

The American Express Aspire Award: Recognizing Emerging Leaders in Preservation: M. Rosalind Sagara, Riverside, Calif.

Peter H. Brink Award for Individual Achievement in Historic Preservation: Enid Pinkney, Coral Gables, Fl.

National Trust/HUD Secretary’s Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation: Saint Luke’s Manor, Cleveland.

Trustees’ Award for Organizational Excellence: The Preservation Alliance of Minnesota, Saint Paul, Minn.

John H. Chafee Trustees’ Award for Outstanding Achievement in Public Policy: John Andrew Gallery, Philadelphia.

Trustees Emeritus Award for Excellence in the Stewardship of Historic Sites: The Jane Addams Hull House, Chicago.


30th Street Main Post Office, Philadelphia.

ASM International Headquarters, Materials Park, Ohio.

Charles H. Shaw Technology and Learning Center, Chicago.

Leavenworth Building 19, Leavenworth, Kan.

Gullah Museum of Hilton Head Island’s Preservation of Duey’s Home, Hilton Head Island, S.C.

The Historic Park Inn Hotel, Mason City, Iowa.

Main Building at Our Lady of the Lake University, San Antonio.

Market Square Place, Pittsburgh.

New Orleans U.S. Custom House, New Orleans.

Oswego Iron Furnace, Lake Oswego, Ore.

Accident Fund National Headquarters/Ottawa Street Power Station, Lansing, Mich.

SIERR Building at McKinstry Station, Spokane, Wash.

Todd Bolender Center for Dance and Creativity, Kansas City, Mo.

Washington State Heritage Barn Preservation Initiative, Wash.

Building a Stronger Brand + Web Design by Line 58